top of page

About The Art in Public Places Committee

The Rockland County Art in Public Places (AIPP) committee — all volunteers from the community — commissions, selects and places works of art at public sites throughout the county, and oversees the conservation of these works. The committee members are experts in the fields of art history, art education, conservation, photography, landscape architecture and design. Appointed by the county executive and confirmed by the county legislature, the committee is always mindful of the integration of art, architecture and the environment, in order to enhance the enjoyment of public spaces. Interested community members frequently become a part of the process.

Committee Members

Mark Attebery – Musician, Composer, Sculptor, and Educator.


Lisa D’Amico, PhD – Artist, Curator, and Educator.

Emily Dennis Harvey – Art Historian and Art Educator. Retired Chair, Art Department, Rockland Community College. Professor of Art History, Rockland Community College.

Pat Hickman – Artist and Sculptor working in the fiber medium. Professor Emerita, University of Hawaii Art Department. Fellow of the American Craft Council.


Kenneth J. Linsner (Vice-Chair) – Appraiser and Conservator. President, Art Services International Group.


Carl Opalek – Artist and nationally-published illustrator. Former VP Creative Director/Design in TV/video, publishing and advertising. Past Vice Chairman, Arts Council of Rockland.


Daniel M. Sherman (Chair) – Landscape Architect.

Debbie Silberberg, MPA, MS Ed – Artist, Special Education Teacher, and Disability Advocate.

June Lee Van Dunk – Artist, Art instructor, and Entrepreneur.

Ex-Officio, Robert H. Gruffi, P.E. – Director of Facilities Management, County of Rockland.

AIPP Program Administrator, Julianne Ramos

How to Apply for Committee Membership


AIPP maintains a list of committee candidates. When an opening occurs, individuals are invited to interview. Interested candidates must reside in Rockland County, and have an understanding of and background in visual arts or design. Attendance at monthly meetings is required and all committee members work on multiple projects. Artists, architects, designers, art educators, art historians, curators, arts administrators and others in the visual arts are welcome to apply.


Note: While serving on AIPP, committee members may not apply for any commissions announced by Rockland County AIPP, nor may they apply for commissions within two years after leaving the committee.

TO APPLY: Send an email to with your contact information and resumé and include “AIPP Committee Membership” as the subject line. Let us know why you are interested in joining the committee.

bottom of page